The Cardboard Challenge

Saturday October 5th was Global Cardboard Challenge which celebrates the anniversary of the flash mob documentary Caine’s Arcade communities globally celebrated child play, creation and innovation.  

My students love Caine’s Arcade.  I used the video as a method for launching Genius Hour and it’s the one thing that really got them hooked.  They couldn’t believe that a kid their age could create something so cool and they loved that he is famous. You should have heard their squeals of delight when they noticed @cainesarcade was following us on Twitter :) very exciting! Anyway when I read about the Global Cardboard Challenge I knew this was something we would have to participate in.  

True to grade 3B form my students ROCKED this challenge.  It’s funny how when you give kids something creative, hands on and open ended there are zero behaviour issues, zero children feeling frustrated and deflated.  You get pairings of kids working together that you would never imagine but authentic collaboration, and discussion happens.  Even the next day when I had the students reflect on their experience in their journals not a single student groaned.  They really had a blast with the previous day so writing about it was a non-issue.  

When I reflect back on the day I feel really proud of them.  When I first came across this activity I hesitated participating.  School life is busy right now  and sometimes I worry with all of the “initiatives” I have going on with my class am I going to fit curriculum in?  But the answer is yes.  These initiatives support curriculum and they open students minds up to it.  They become sponges and willing participants in their learning because they are excited keen to find out what “Ms. L-Y” has planned next.  

 

The massive pile of cardboard in the middle of our carpet.  You might not believe it but there was not a single piece left at the end!

The massive pile of cardboard in the middle of our carpet. You might not believe it but there was not a single piece left at the end!

 

Shameala created htis house.  She added so many fine little details to it.

Shameala created htis house. She added so many fine little details to it.

 

Hearing the story that went a long with Timothy's robot was pretty cool.  I'll have to share his journal entry later

Hearing the story that went a long with Timothy’s robot was pretty cool. I’ll have to share his journal entry later

 

Do you think my apple love is having an influence on my students?  Adam made an apple Mac Book!

Do you think my apple love is having an influence on my students? Adam made an apple Mac Book!

 

Such amazing focus

Such amazing focus

 

3 responses to “The Cardboard Challenge

  1. Great post! I love the MacBook! Wasn’t it amazing how engaged the kids were while doing this? I was a little tentative about the whole thing at first, but now I can’t wait to do it again next year!

Leave a Reply

