Day 4: Shivonne Lewis-Young, Grade 3 Teacher (Massey Street Public School)

Today was my turn to share my thoughts on the Peel Project 184 blog (soon to be renamed Project 198 to reflect the number of school days in Peel this year). When I remembered it was my day I thought, “what could I have possibly learned in four days?” Well the truth is I’ve learned a lot about myself this week and the importance of not making assumptions.

I love this project and I really hope that more Peel Partners are inspired to write for it! Check it out and sign up!

Peel21st Project 188

What I Learned Today


My name is Shivonne Lewis-Young and I teach grade 3 at Massey Street Public School. I love the 3C’s – coffee, chocolate and my children.

I am in my eleventh year of teaching. I’ve felt very fortunate to have a variety of teaching experiences from Kindergarten including pre and post FDK, combined grades, 1-3 and ESL where I supported grade 1-5. In my eleven years I have never taught the exact same grade 2 years in a row. I’ve always wondered how colleagues taught the same grade year after year and wondered how they were not bored. I almost did with FDK. I started the year but left in February to go on leave with my second child. So I am quite use to change and understand that naturally each school year would look quite different from the rest.

I was assigned grade 3 again for…

View original post 333 more words

Leave a Reply

