Happy World Teacher’s Day

Today is World Teacher’s Day. I’m spending the morning snuggled up on the couch with my two favourite little people. We are watching Umi Zoomi and our fire place is on. We have a busy day of errands, mostly party prep for Keelyn’s 5th birthday party this week. My husband Phil also an educator is outside building our fence (he’s wearing shorts and a toque 🙂 ).  It’s actually a pretty fantastic way to celebrate.

I’ve been teaching for 11 years now and I feel that finally I’ve found my groove.  I am much more confident as an educator. Thanks to the connections (both online and offline) I’ve made I created a style of teaching that works for me.  I’ve become a risk taker and I no longer take things personally when a lesson I prepare doesn’t work out.  I am able to step back and reflect and either move a long or shift my focus and try again.  I make decisions in my classroom based on the needs of my students in fact everything I plan and craft up is with those unique 20 individuals in mind.  In a lot of ways being a teacher is so much tougher than when I first started.  I’ve been a mom for almost 5 years and a lot of the time I had to dedicate to professional learning, running extra curricular, working on committees is now refocused on my family.  It’s been tough to balance.  My daughter has recently broken her arm and when I’ve been off with her for appointments I’ve had to push back on the feelings of guilt that were building with being away.  I had to tell myself out loud “my family needs me!”

Teaching is certainly not glamorous and I often think I should have chosen a job where I could wear stilettos but I love that I am a teacher.  I love the connections I’ve made to kids and colleagues and as I reflect back on my practice I’m glad I became a teacher!

Be sure to thank an awesome educator today!

world-teachers-day_81012

Leave a Reply

