Making an Elsa Braid

*Disclaimer – this isn’t a school/teaching related post.  It’s a mom/family related post.  I try to stick to my professional side but sometimes the two are woven or sometimes I’m just so excited about something from my family life I have to share.  This is one of those times.

I have a 5 year old daughter.  Halloween is coming up and as you can probably guess she’s decided to be Elsa for Halloween.  She decided in June that she was going to be a My Little Pony and I was excited because I found the cutest costume online to make her.  The Party City Halloween costume flyer came to the house the first week of October and she changed her mind… in October… I knew finding a dress to fit her would prove to be difficult.  I was right.  Good thing my husband’s Nana is a great seamstress and she made Keelyn the perfect dress.  Keelyn has a short bob and she’s been insisting that her hair isn’t right for Elsa.  We tried the wig but it was too messy for Keelyn’s likes.  We decided to repurpose one of her play tiara’s into an Elsa tiara and hair.

Keelyn chose the tiara and from our winter craft stuff she chose glittery winter things to decorate it with. We also used light yellow yarn and braided it to cover the arms of the tiara and glued it into place. We added more yarn to make the bottom thicker and braided it into the two smaller braids. If I could do it again I’d make the length more consistent as it looks a bit sloppy at the end where the yarn lengths taper. It was Keelyn’s idea to glue in some sparkly things on the braid. She’s pretty proud of it and I’m happy because I got to contribute to her costume as well!

Super easy Elsa braid. Use yarn, an existing tiara, hot blue, and winter glittery things :)

Super easy Elsa braid. Use yarn, an existing tiara, hot blue, and winter glittery things 🙂

I think she likes it!

I think she likes it!

Leave a Reply

